This is an old article in Road Bike Action during the 2013 Tour of California. I was the team doctor for the Champion Systems Pro cycling team and I remember clearly the day going into Pismo (Avila) Beach. I was in the team car and was just watching the chaos in front of me. Going into the last 50 kilometers of the run in to Pismo Beach, the winds kicked up to over 20 mph. The wind was a direct left to right, and many groups of riders were split into pieces. The fight for wheels was intense. The front group of 17 included Sagan, Voigt, Van Garderen and others (see below) – a very select group. Then with about 5 kilometers to go Jens rode off the front and held it to the end. It marked his 66th career win. To see this in person, from a team car was one of my favorite memories of the Tour of California.

Seventeen riders made the front split, a mix of GC favorites and sprinters: Voigt, Matthew Busche, and Markel Irizar (RadioShack-Leopard); Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp); van Garderen, Thor Hushovd, and Michael Schär (BMC Racing); Baden Cooke, Mitchell Docker, Michael Matthews, and Cameron Meyer (Orica-GreenEdge); Michael Rogers and Jonas Aaen Jorgensen, and Jay McCarthy (Saxo-Tinkoff); Alex Candelario (Optum); Sagan; and De Gendt.